Auto Repair - dishonest shop

jkust

Rear Admiral
I had to take my wife's suv in for some repairs to the local repair shop. The shop called me up and explained that my brakes (all four of them) were completely worn out right to the metal and dangerous and that they need to do both axles plus the front rotors. The rotors have been pulsating a bit for a while now but not a big deal. They quoted me $650 for pads and front rotors. I said to the guy on the phone that the indicators aren't indicating and how can the rears possibly be going out at the same time as the fronts? Rears almost never need replacement. Every time I or my wife talked to the shop they kept reinforcing how bad the pads were worn out and how crazy it was that I wasn't agreeing to have the brake work performed. I said not to do the brakes and I would figure it out. I'm not a mechanic but I do my own brakes as I have all of the tools, suv jack, jack stands, air compressor and air tools that I got as gifts over the years. I went out and bought the pads plus rotors and went to work yesterday.
The front pads including the inside pads were at least 40% still and the rears were at least 50%. I should have checked first before buying the parts but wasn't expecting that the shop was flat out lying to me. I replaced the front rotors which were warped a bit and front pads ( I wasn't sure if the old pads that had been used on warped rotors would cause any pulsating) and will return the rear pads. I just wonder how many people fall for this. I have half a mind to call the shop and let them know that they are being dishonest and it didn't go unnoticed. It was the owner doing all of the pushing for the work. I kept the old pads.

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner
Best thing to do nowadays is call them out on every single online review site you can find.

MTboatguy

Fleet Admiral