Alpha 1 Drive won't go down

meder24

Seaman
Hello,

I recently pulled my '87 Thompson with a 3.0L Merc and Alpha 1 Drive out of storage. Much to my surprise, when I tried to lower the outdrive, all i would get when pressing the trim button was a single click noise and nothing would happen. The fluid in the reservoir is at the full line.
I did make the mistake of leaving the outdrive in the up position for the winter. So I am thinking that maybe the cylinders are just corroded and stuck?
Everything worked just fine last year and before putting the boat into storage (indoor storage).
I have read a few places about trying to break the cylinders loose by applying pressure to the outdrive while activating the trim switch in the boat.
Does anyone have any insight into what else I could do to fix this issue. It seems unlikely to me, granted I am no professional, that the hydraulic pump would go bad sitting all winter.

tpenfield

Staff member
The trim pump has 2 solenoids that activate the pump. Sounds like the click you are hearing is the solenoid not working.

Bt Doctur

Supreme Mariner
take a jumper from the battery and touch the green motor wire(down) ,then check both the pos and neg pump connections.
If all good to there, then replace the solenoid

meder24

Seaman
Thank you both for the quick responses. I will certainly try jumping the jumping. Are the solenoids located at the pump or are they on the underside of the engine block?

duped

Petty Officer 1st Class
You may be able to get the solenoid unstuck by flipping the trim switch down very rapidly and repeatedly.

The "up" solenoids were stuck on both of my pumps and that trick freed 'em and they still work today.

Works almost every time for any kind of solenoid...

Alumarine

Captain
Thank you both for the quick responses. I will certainly try jumping the jumping. Are the solenoids located at the pump or are they on the underside of the engine block?