72 Mercury 500 No Spark

RRafkin72

Seaman
Hey Guys new to the forum, found a lot of good info on here so far. Thank you

Just picked up a 1960, 16ft. Glasspar Citation with a 1972 Merc 500 50hp with no spark. I'm a carreer marine mechanic but strictly inboard diesel so this is all new territory for me.

Here's where I'm at...
• Known good battery
• Engine cranks good
• Feels like good compression. Will test soon
• Zero spark on all 4 cyl.
• Old ass plugs and plug wires
• Previous owner installed a new on engine harness, starter, and fairly sure a new vessel harness as well.

• I've disconnected my stator from the rectifier. removed the rectifier, removed ignition coil, and switch box.

• I tested the coil per Merc.son youtube video and I have 0.1 ohm across my coil green wire and the ground. I have about 330k ohms between the big post and either small post on the coil.

• Stator has low impedance across the 2 output wires and neither wire is shorted to ground.

I am looking for an official wiring diagram for my year if anyone has one that would shed some light forsure.
I have the switch box with 4 posts on one side only. I know the blue and white posts have continuity to ground and I believe that the merc switch when grounded will kill spark correct?
Any help or insight is greatly appreciated thanks guys 🍻

20221025_075620.jpg

Attachments

• 20221027_181333.jpg
    20221027_181333.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 5

merc850

Commander
Clever bit of engineeringlitning.jpg
I have the 1975 wiring diagram for your reference it might be different than your motor1975-500small.jpg

RRafkin72

Seaman
Clever bit of engineeringView attachment 372193
I have the 1975 wiring diagram for your reference it might be different than your motorView attachment 372194

Thanks merc850,

So from what I understand in a normal condition the blue switch box terminal is momentarily shorted to ground to stop the engine.