5.0 GXI-N Cooling System

JP_R

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I am doing a bunch of maintenance on a new boat that I just purchased and got the a point that I am a bit confused. Broker stated the boat needed new impellers and or new water pumps along with a few other items given the boat had been without use for a while.... I am doing all oils, impellers, plugs, gaskets, etc.....

Bought new impellers to start and to my surprise, current impellers look and feel perfect. Rubber is still in great shape and they look like they have not been used much since last replaced. Pump looks good too. Bearings spin fine and no strange grinding noises.

Engines run great when connected to flush fitting and they spill out lots of water. When connected to the muffs though, absolutely no water comes out via exhaust. I am new to Volvo engines so wondering what it could be?

I considered some kind of blockage on transom hose but the thing is that when the engines are off, lots of water comes out of the drive pickup.... that leads me to believe that if the water can flow down to the drive, then water should be able to flow up from drive to motor. Am I correct in thinking this?

alldodge

Staff member
There is a flush fitting
Follow the fitting to see if there is a valve (manual or auto) which shuts off water going back to the drive.

If valve is open, then check the drive for a clog (maybe even things like mud dobbers)

JP_R

Petty Officer 3rd Class
There is a flush fitting
Follow the fitting to see if there is a valve (manual or auto) which shuts off water going back to the drive.

If valve is open, then check the drive for a clog (maybe even things like mud dobbers)
thinking out loud here.... if when connected to the flush fitting (engines off) the water if flowing back and escaping via the drive pickups perfectly, wouldn't that rule out blockage?

alldodge

Staff member
OK, you said water came out drive pickup, didn't catch the term