2-line pressure tank question

OMCfan

Seaman
I have a fuel system question involving a QD-16 and pressure tank. I tried starting it this morning and it does not appear that I am getting fuel to the plugs. I have put new points condensers and coils along with wires and boots and new plugs. I do have spark, which jumps about a quarter inch gap on both cylinders and very good compression. But, she is not firing and when I pulled the plugs, they were bone dry. I have not done any work on the carb, but it was extremely clean and no sediment in the bowl and there were no leaks. I have installed new fuel rated lines.

I did notice when pumping up the pressure that once the pressure built up some fuel was squirting out around the aluminum knob shaft. I have never used a pressure tank before so I do not know if this is normal or not. I did install new fuel line and new springs and o-rings on the female connector and a new cork seal around the tank pump housing. When pressurizing the tank fuel did enter and fill the glass sediment bowl on the carb.

Any advice appreciated! Thanks!

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Fuel leakage at the primer pump shaft is caused by a bad seal where the pump shaft goes through the supports and diaphragm. Can be distorted supports, loose nut, and/or a corroded end on the pump shaft. The end has to be square (not corroded) where it meets the support washer, and you ought to put some sealer goop on it. Also, ,the knob is supposed to spin freely on the shaft. If it does not, you tend to rotate it as you pump, which unscrews the nut off the bottom.

EDIT: However, that leak is not keeping it from running, as long as the carburetor fills.

Last edited:

OMCfan

Seaman
Thanks F_R, I checked the knob and it does indeed spin quite freely upon the pump shaft. So, it must be a bad seal, but from what I have read the motor should run with that as you said. The tank seems to be holding it's pressure so I am a bit stumped.

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner