1973 Trisonic tri-hull custom resto: update 6-5

starleen2

Cadet
Well folks here goes for my first post. I recently acquired a 1973 Trisonic trihull with an 888 mercruiser. It?s a bit on the ?seen it?s better days? ? but I?m not into the boat for very much $$$ and the engine runs perfectly. The lower fiberglass hull is in near perfect condition and all the parts were there for the custom restoration.
A little about me first.

? I have spent many years wrenching on engines and have rebuilt several autos ? refurbishing and resto work. However this is my first foray into the world of marine mechanics.
? I am a semi professional upholster spending over 20 yrs doing all sorts of upholstery ? autos, plane, boats, and furniture
? I have carpentry skills? I have built mini campers and not a stranger to fiberglass and epoxy.

Sooo I think I got what it takes to do a little custom restoration on this little number. This is my very first boat to own. I?ve always been a kind of a ?vintage type? of guy so I was able to get this boat to match my tastes. Sure I could have gone ?newer? and spent less and saved myself a whole lotta of work, but where is the fun in that?

My Plan is to:
? Replace the Deck ? soft and rotten wood ? going to cut it all out and glass in the new
? Install new carpet
? Buff out the upper fiberglass gel coat
? Rebuild the engine cover - customize to make a rear elevated deck
? Replace impeller/ lower end rebuild / refurbish
? Install new seats / cushion in the bow area
? Refurbish the instruments
? a basic engine tune up / clean up

Tomorrow I post pictures for your enjoyment! Let the tear out begin!

Last edited:

GT1000000

Rear Admiral
Re: 1973 Trisonic

Welcome to the drydock, starleen2,

Sounds like you got what it takes to tackle this project, especially the right attitude...

We'll come aboard for the ride to help in any way we can...

Can't wait to see the pics...

Have Fun!

GT1M

starleen2

Cadet
Re: 1973 Trisonic refurbish