1969 18' fiberform floor removal

jhtaylor

Seaman Apprentice
I spent some time this weekend reading all I could on removing floors. It gave me the confidence to get started on my boat. I have one specific question that I could not find. Although I am sure it is here somewhere. How do I cut the floor without danger of cutting the hull? Lots of folks here mention cutting it out but no one seems to say I used this or that tool and this is how I approached it. I have seen mention of a sawsall, but that seems like it would extend through far enough to be of concern. Is it possible to remove the floor in one piece, re-glass and reinstall it? Any help and/or guidance will be appreciated. I am a newbie on this forum and anxious to get started.

Matrex

Seaman
Re: 1969 18' fiberform floor removal

I used a circular saw. I set the blade to just a shade shallower than the plywood. Worked great to get the floor up. Mine was rotten so I was not worried about reuse.

Then I went through the hull with my grinder cut off wheel. Sigh.

keepNitreel

Chief Petty Officer

I used a circular saw and set it to cut a little (very little) bit over 3/4 and started cutting the middle first, so I could see how much space was between the deck and the hull. This space gets closer as you get toward the sides so I looked threw to see exactly how far the blade was from the hull. It left a lip so I then used the grinder for the rest.

JaSla74

Chief Petty Officer

I'm in the same boat as you right now (pun intended). It's slow & tedious, but I'm using a hammer & chisel.

jhtaylor

Seaman Apprentice