18' '71 Kona Ski Restoration

Konacove

Cadet
I'm a newbie never owned a boat and know almost nothing about them and just recently acquired this boat. First I want to thank everyone for all the information i have already gotten just from browsing this forum. This boat has been sitting for i'm guessing 7 years since the tags say '03. The gel coat on the boat is oxidized pretty bad and the surface is very rough so i know that is going to be a huge step from what i read in these forums with the whole wetsanding process. I also found a soft spot in the floor so i ripped up the carpet. i am excited about this project and have been lookin at the iboats forums all week and decided i needed to take some pics and post em on here to share my project and for the wise words of fellow iboaters
well here is the boat
100_0901.jpg

here is the crack in the floor that made the soft spot i was steppin on..i figure i am gonna have to rip it out and put new plywood down...
100_0904.jpg

on the back of the boat it seems the cap and hull are offset by about .5" is that normal? am i going to have to fix this? how??
100_0892.jpg

on the front of the bow we have some gouges where it sits on the trailer i am gonna have to work on...any advice?
100_0909.jpg

and here is my O/B Merc i belive 150hp?
100_0896.jpg

here is the gas tank i'm gonna clean
100_0911.jpg

so far i'm about 5 days in to this thing don't have a set deadline goal because i don't know how funds are going to effect me down the line i'm trying to DIY the whole shibang....WISH ME LUCK! AND THANKS!

tschmidty

Chief Petty Officer
Re: 18' '71 Kona Ski Restoration

No real advice but looks like it could be a real cool boat. The outboard is a vy6 so should be at least 150hp. As far as the cap offset just take a look your guess is as good as most.

Crack in the floor, looks like you just need to tear it up and see. If nothing else you'll feel good about how it looks in the end.

Have fun.

Konacove

Cadet