eBay Auction Sniping

jeeperman

Lieutenant Commander
Re: eBay Auction Sniping

Starting at zero with no reserve would be a no reserve auction.
It is what it is.

skargo

Banned

It is what it is.

Do you not understand the concept of opening bid? I've been selling stuff on Ebay for 10 years now, and I always set an opening bid.

For example, I just sold 3 G scale train cars. The opening bid was $10, and it was a no reserve auction. If I would have gotten 10.01, I'd have been happy. I got much more though :D

I have tried it with an opening bid of .01 but you get 8 million mouth breathers bidding a quarter or whatever until it gets up where it would be anyway. They are just skimming hoping no one will notice the auction and they can steal a deal.

piper_chuck

Petty Officer 3rd Class

It is what it is.
As would starting at $100, or $1000, or $1000000 with no reserve. A no reserve auction is just that, an auction with no reserve. The starting price is not a reserve.

jeeperman

Lieutenant Commander

If a seller lists an item with an opening bid requirement of $100 it has the same effect of placing a reserve of $100 on the item.

Either way the item does not sell for $99 dollars does it?
Does it?
Does it?

No it does not.

skargo

Banned

BeatDeadHorse.gif

piper_chuck

Petty Officer 3rd Class

If a seller lists an item with an opening bid requirement of $100 it has the same effect of placing a reserve of $100 on the item.

Either way the item does not sell for $99 dollars does it?
Does it?
Does it?

No it does not.
No, it doesn't, but once again, what you describe is not a reserve in eBay or other auction terminology.

tallcanadian

Captain