TRANSOM deck and stringer replacment

1961 15ft kenway fiberglass runabout

i ordered some new back to back loung seats and was going to install them but...

i found a little rot ...

Last edited:
Re: deck and stringer replacment

after removing all the old rotten plywood decking i started trimming/grinding down the fiberglass edges of the old decking

i was going to use 2x4 and 2x6 pt for stringers but now after what i have read on here i am worried that this is not a good idea? i already have the
2x's available and two are roughly cut.

i understand it doesnt matter how much i save on free materials and work i have already done cutting the 2x's if they arent going to work properly
i know there are probly alot of post on this topic already but i am asking for one more
thanks
oh and ps im a noob

TojosMojo

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Welcome to the forum, you have all the usual suspects, rotten floor, stringers, and transom should be shot to...

Good news is you are in the right place to get it fixed.

thanks !
the transom was replaced at some point and looks good so im hoping it is...
any pointers/advise would be gladly excepted !

TojosMojo

Petty Officer 2nd Class

I am not an expert on the subject but first off dimensional lumber has a problem with swelling and contracting more than a plywood product would, thus causing more movement which can crack fiberglass and pull away from your flooring (Pressure must be dried out completely at least 3-6 weeks in a dry environment, and is a lot heavier than you may want in that boat). Also if the lumber you are using is not dry you will be incasing it in fiberglass thus sealing in the moister and causing rot to set in, also the resin/epoxy will not adhere well if at all the the wet PT.