Transom cap removal???

rsp95

Seaman
I have a 62 Niagara Custom and it needs to have the transom replaced. I finally removed the motor but am now having problem with the cap. The last screws are not accessible so removing them is a problem. I've never done anything like this before so I'm not sure what to do. Can someone please help me?

Attachments

• 004.jpg
    004.jpg
    16.2 KB · Views: 0
  • 005.jpg
    005.jpg
    17.8 KB · Views: 0

pduquette

Ensign
Re: Transom cap removal???

Hi rsp95 , Welcome aboard too ! There should be an arrow-shaped trim retainer at the rear of the gunnel cap .take out the screw and tap off the aluminum trim untill you can access the last two screws . Be paitent and work carefully , exact replacement parts aren't available . Hopefully Bob or Ed will chime in with more detail - my transom was butchered when I got my Oxford. peter

rsp95

Seaman

Thanks pduquette. I will try that tonight. I saw a preview of the rot and she needs a new transom badly. I believe I will use Seacast so if anyone has any tips I can sure use it.

pduquette

Ensign

Read through Landscapewiz , edc, and mark42 , threads they have their projects detailed well . If you click on the link at the bottom of mark42's link he has many typical niagra projects detailed . peter

what part of the country are you from????

rsp95

Seaman

I live in the NorthEast corner of the country in Topsham, Maine.

I will check the threads you mentioned. I have seen a few of mark42's work and I am very impressed.

rsp95

Seaman

The cap is off. On to cutting some fiberglass and then removal of wood.

pduquette

Ensign

Great ! work patiently - don't try to dig / rip too much at once . Are you using a forsner drill or chisel method? peter

rsp95

Seaman