New to boating, live in PA

travbl

Seaman
I am new to boating and I am just wondering where are the best places to go. We live in Allentown PA and I know of Beltzville and Lake Wallenpaupack. Any advice going to these places or any other places would be much appreciated. Thanks. We have a 20 ft stingray by the way.

arks

Lieutenant Commander
Re: New to boating, live in PA

Blue Marsh in Reading is nice. Google it for more info.
If you want REAL water, you're only 1 1/2 hours to the Chesapeake, where I spend my leisure time....

travbl

Seaman

Where would I go to go on the Chesapeake? I'm not familiar with that area, where would I launch at?

Blue Crabber

Ensign

There are several places on the upper bay to launch.

Charleston Marina (in Charleston, MD) has a public ramp (I don't believe there is a charge) You can access the marina by taking Route 40 to Route 7 which runs right into Charleston.

On Route 272 South you will find Elk neck state park. The park has multiple ramps but there are fees to use. Refer to these sites:

http://www.dnr.state.md.us/publiclands/central/elkneck.html

http://www.dnr.state.md.us/publiclands/oc.html

You are actually puting in at Rogues Harbor. There are 4 lanes at the boat launch so it keeps things moving.

The are many more marinas available that you can use too, most will charge a fee of some kind. A few in North East MD, Some in Georgetown, MD on the Sasafrass River and I believe some in Havre De Grace as well. (Altough if you go to Havre De Grace there will be a fee to use the bridge which will allow you to use it for the next year.)

As far as where to go on the water.... That is an endless possibility!