Did I winterize it right? Anti-Freeze Fill Up

enginesilo

Petty Officer 1st Class
Hi all, wanted to get some insight if I winterized and got anti-freeze into my outdrive water pickup tube and the exhaust manifolds properly. Hoping someone can shed some light that uses anti-freeze. I know many say air doesn't freeze, but I've used Anti-freeze for a long time and its never done me wrong. So this is a thread about using anti-freeze, not just draining.

My engine is a 5.0 GXI with a duo-prop outdrive, this is my first year with this engine.

I went ahead and drained the manifolds, drained the engine block, and I also removed the tube off the circulation pump, and both of the tubes on the water/impeller pump until there was no more water coming out. After it was all drained, I proceeded to fill with anti-freeze from all the tubes that come off the Thermostat (1 tube to each exhaust manifold, 1 tube to the circulation pump, and 1 tube to water pump if I remember correctly). All that went as it normally does and I filled until the passages were full until the tubes were about to overflow. What I'm unsure of is 2 things:

-When I filled the 1 tube on the water impeller pump that is the pickup tube, it never drained anti-freeze out the outdrive. On my old boat I could hear the anti-freeze pour out as the plumbing went directly out the outdrive. Should this happen with this motor and outdrive setup? Should 1 of the 2 tubes on the water impeller pump drain directly out of the outdrive when anti-freeze is poured into it?