My 1981 Malibu 16'8 CC restomod

Signal 20

Seaman
I know I already kind of started a thread about this, but I figured I needed an "official" resto thread, so heres the start of it. This is my 1981 Malibu 16'8 Center Console boat with a 1981 Mercury 80hp Thunderbolt outboard. I have plans for a complete deck replacement, possibly redoing the front casting deck, building and plumbing livewells in the rear compartments and restoring the center console. Also hopefully including some nice paint and repainting the deck as the white with brown splash paint job is hidious.

This is my first attempt at rebuilding or restoring any kind of boat so I will be asking for some advise along the way :D

380339542.jpg

1981 Mercury 80hp Thunderbolt outboard, ran ok when I tried it on the water once, however waterpump is bad and will need replacing, it stopped peeing water about 100 yards from the ramp ;)

380339544.jpg

Here is the deck with the horrible brown splash paint.

380339546.jpg

Front deck of the boat with the casting deck that I would like to redo

380339545.jpg

This is what I found under the center console, the floor is very soft and I could probably put my foot through it if I stood in the middle of the soft spot

Signal 20

Seaman
Re: My 1981 Malibu 16'8 CC restomod

380339543.jpg

This is the center console, sorry I did not take pictures when I pulled it out

380339575.jpg

This is the nice rotted shelf in the center console that I will be replacing

380339573.jpg

Sorry job at patch work on the hull, looks like someone hit bottom acoupe times

380339578.jpg

380339577.jpg

Horrible job at rod holders that had open bottom, so rain and water just sat in the foam for years....will be patching this

380339576.jpg

this is really the only proof that the boat is a Malibu, however I cant find ANY info about the boat or manufacter online