1957 Fleetform Custom Restoration

MPrimeaux

Petty Officer 1st Class
Hi all. Brand new to the forum. I recently set out to find an old "junk" glass boat to cut up and glass a jet ski motor in for a fun project. I picked up an "old junk boat" from pictures on the internet for pretty cheap that turned out to be in much better shape than I thought. Turned out to be what I think is a 1957 Fleetform Custom?? Commodore?? Commodore Custom?? Not sure exactly what the model is, but it's definitely a Fleetform. Says "Custom" on the center of the steering wheel. At any rate, I just don't have the heart to cut it up and have decided that it would be WAY cooler to try to restore it any take my lovely bride out and chauffeur her around on nice evenings. I LOVE the lines of this boat. I will surely need some help with this project, however. I've redone a couple of motorcycles, but never boats. I have all of the tools to spray/finish paint (I think) and I'm pretty handy. I was a welder for most of my life until I went back to school several years ago and currently work as an Electrician on a drilling rig in the GOM. Here's a couple of pictures of the boat and I'll update when I get home and put my hands on it. First up is just a good cleaning and inspection. Any advice would really help. Thanks.

Attachments

• photo312247.jpg
    photo312247.jpg
    148.7 KB · Views: 4
  • photo312248.png
    photo312248.png
    179.4 KB · Views: 4
  • photo312249.jpg
    photo312249.jpg
    78.1 KB · Views: 4
  • photo312250.jpg
    photo312250.jpg
    156.7 KB · Views: 4
  • photo312251.jpg
    photo312251.jpg
    134.6 KB · Views: 6
  • photo312252.png
    photo312252.png
    712.8 KB · Views: 5
  • photo312253.jpg
    photo312253.jpg
    136.2 KB · Views: 4
  • photo312254.png
    photo312254.png
    598.5 KB · Views: 5
  • photo312255.png
    photo312255.png
    254.4 KB · Views: 4
  • photo312256.png
    photo312256.png
    655.5 KB · Views: 4
  • photo312260.png
    photo312260.png