My Rotten Lady

kramerpage

Chief Petty Officer
Hello all,
I purchased a 1989 Larson 220 Hampton 2 weeks ago knowing that It had some rot. I have found the engine mount pads and engine compartment bulkhead are bad. The transom seams to be somewhat good with one 6-8 inch area that shows high on a moisture meter 80 percent where a sonar transducer wasn't sealed properly the rest of the transom reads 18 t to 19 percent. My purpose of the boat is to walleye fish on Lake Erie as I have all my life. I have been a boat owner since 1983. My Budget does not allow me to buy what I want so I must be frugal or give up the hobby. My 6 kids are all out of the house, my father passed away 2 years ago and I now have some time to myself, I have a 1989 Larson DC-215 at the lake now that is totally rotted bow to stern but is fantastic mechanically.I would like to marry the two girls. They both have identical 4.3 l mercrusier and drive. I am a mechanical engineer by trade. Im intimidated and excited at the same time about this project. I believe I could make the repair with some guidance. My goal is to get 4 years of use out of the boat.

Attachments

• photo220694.jpg
    photo220694.jpg
    26 KB · Views: 0
  • photo220695.jpg
    photo220695.jpg
    12.1 KB · Views: 0

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
Have you checked the stringers and bulkheads for rot? what portion of the transom is showing high moisture?

Mr.Stickney

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Nice pickup Kramer! I was looking at Larson Hampton in Detroit that needed similar work. Just love the look of the boat. Unfortunately I'm on the other side of Lake Erie and the US$ was not being so friendly when I purchased.

Your best friend is going to be a drill and drill bit. Drill some shallow holes in the stringers transom and bulkheads. Best case its dry and you can just fill it with Epoxy and be on your way. Worst case ... at least you know what's rotten and what's not.