confirmation of fiberglass/resin choices for old Glasspa Stringer and Deck repair

ianmoore

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hello,
I've done quite a bit of reading here and on other sites as i prepare to fix the center stringer and replace the deck in my 1959 Glasspar Seafair sedan.
I've never done the glassing before, but feel generally ready to start. That said, i was hoping to confirm a couple of questions that I am still unsure of.

1. For the stringers, it looks like the best bet is the 1708 Biaxal. If i set them in and run tape along the seams, then the Biaxal is all i need as far as fabric?

2. For my resin i was looking to use the '700 vinyl resin', which seems to be a step up from the standard polyester, but not as prohibitively expensive as the epoxy(which would be out of my price range). overkill, underkill?

3. I am using marine ply for both the stringer and the deck. Do i need to seal the stringers with resin before glassing them in? I am reading a lot of conflicting info about this.

4. For the deck, am i ok with a couple of layers of 6oz matt on each side? What are the thought on sealing the screw holes with resin before screwing them in?

Thanks a lot!
Ian

JASinIL2006

Vice Admiral
For the screw holes, many of us predrill the holes, fill with 3M 5200 and then screw the deck down. Then fiberglass over the top.

After the screws are inserted and the 5200 cures, you can fill the dimples created by the screwheads with thickened resin, if you wish, then glass over the top.

Last edited:

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner