Exterior below floor sweat????

Joeshow

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hi, yesterday I noticed the outside of my hull is sweating, I'm scared! The boat has been out of the water for 2 or so months, covered, with the drain plug out. The sweat seems to be where the floor starts and below. It has been below freezing for a week or so but warmed up the last couple days. I'm thinking of doing a few core samples.....The floor seems solid, so if anything I hope there is no damage! Oh and the inside carpet is dry... Please tell me it's not necessary and it's normal!! Lol

Pmccraney

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Exterior below floor sweat????

I would look into it... I am not a boat pro or a scientist, but this MAY be occuring because your foam is holding water and its thawing slower from the recent freeze. So, when the water vapor in warmer air hits that chilly surface (like a soda can sweating in the sun) it turns into condensation.

Or, it could be a normal phenomenon and one of the pros will come by and set the record straight shortly.

Good luck to you...

JASinIL2006

Vice Admiral

Cold boat plus warm air = condensation? Just a thought from someone studying phase changes with a junior high kid in science class... :D

Jim

Last edited:

Joeshow

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Haha yeah, I'm hoping its just the concealed foam holding the cold!

tpenfield

Staff member

Yup, you will get some condensation from the areas of foam below the cockpit floor and the fuel tank as you get some widely varying temperatures. If you think that it is excessive or prolonged, then it would be worth looking into. My thoughts are if the foam has become saturated, or stuff like that. these are possibilities, but you may want to check to be sure.

Joeshow

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Yeah good point Ted, I'll always be wondering if I don't know for sure!

I'll take some samples today n post back with results.

Joeshow

Petty Officer 3rd Class