Do Bearing Buddies work?

wingmastr23

Petty Officer 1st Class
I am a newbie when it comes to boat ownership - while at a reputable marine dealer, the parts man (who has worked there for 20yrs) explained to me that Bearing Buddies were a gimmick and do not help.

His reasoning is that if water were to ever get into the hub, the Bearing Buddies would just compress and keep the water in there by "sealing" it in with more grease....thus creating an environment for the bearings that consists of water and grease....and actually ruining the bearings faster.

His recommendation was to use the traditional covers.

Thoughts?

rbh

Fleet Admiral
Re: Do Bearing Buddies work?

My take on bearing buddys is they preasureize the bearing area with grease so water doesnt get in.

vegasphotoman

Lieutenant

well they make it EASY to add grease....but since there's no design for the OLD grease to come out....Id have to agree that they aren't doing that much good....I have thought a little about what to do about that problem.....NEW INVENTION NEEDED!

if you dont want to spend $$ for bearing buddies one could always add grease fitting to each regular cap....might need a small nut on the backside of the cap to give the grease zerk something to bite into....either way theres only SO MUCH room for grease and it has tom come out to be useful.....

I guess Ideally there would be a removable plug at the back of the hub,past the bearing and before the seal.....remove it when adding grease and old grease comes out........re-install plug and enjoy for a couple trips etc.

currently the best way to treat your bearings would be to remove them, clean and grease a couple times a year. and to inspect and or replace the bearing, wheel seals and caps annually.

jaxnjil

Lieutenant

I am a newbie when it comes to boat ownership - while at a reputable marine dealer, the parts man (who has worked there for 20yrs) explained to me that Bearing Buddies were a gimmick and do not help.