Zinc's on Small OB

pscrabber59

Petty Officer 1st Class
Happy Hoildays to all.
I bought a few outboards(93'Merc. 3.3hp, 83' Evinrude 7.5hp) this past summer and plan to use both in salt-water cond.
My questions are, do i need to install those little zincs bars on the cav. plate? if so is just usually 2 small bolts&zinc bar and your finished?
Thanks for all&any advice

Home Cookin'

Fleet Admiral
Re: Zinc's on Small OB

I'm no expert but it strikes me that since your small outboards aren't going to be in the water except while being used you don't need to protect them. Further, they aren't hooked up to anything electric so there's no stray current. The electrolysis problem that the zincs sacrifice occurs with combinations of salt water, metals in antifouling paint, metals in motors grounded inthe water, and electricity in the motors (and sometimes stray electrical currents in the water). I put them on my metal electric trim tabs that stay underwater (salt) and the zincs really take a hit.

For example I once accidentally left the key on overnight; the 70 HP motor was down in high salt water and it's an old motor with mysterious electrical issues. next day it was right fuzzy from some kinds of magical chrystals.

Same should apply to trailer boats that aren't exposed that long, especially if the bottom isn't painted. I'd just stick with how the motor was made.

steelespike

Supreme Mariner

Of course a careful flushing a wipe down is understood after a workout.

pscrabber59

Petty Officer 1st Class

Thanks guys for the info. I was able to buy a small little zinc anode from a marine store i go to for $3 bucks but the guy who own's the store told me not worry about the zinc anode because i don't have the motors in salt-water all the time submerged.

Larry3215

Petty Officer 3rd Class