Wot ?????

whatisup02

Cadet
Ok im new to boats but not to engines. Why am I reading that you need to run your boat at WOT or your shorten you engines life? You don't do that with your car and if you did you would kill it fast. Can someone explain why?

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Wot ?????

Why am I reading that you need to run your boat at WOT

You need to run it at WOT in order get the proper prop. Other than that, there is no reason.

PS: That is being run under load, not sitting in your driveway on muffs. You DO NOT for any reason go to WOT with no load.

emoney

Commander

And your "cruising speed" will be quite a few RPMs less than WOT. This is the "sweet spot" for the motor for fuel economy and "longevity".

ktbarrentine

Lieutenant

Ok im new to boats but not to engines. Why am I reading that you need to run your boat at WOT or your shorten you engines life? You don't do that with your car and if you did you would kill it fast. Can someone explain why?

Just curious....where are you reading that?

achris

More fish than mountain goat

That statement should be... Your engine needs to be able to run at the manufacturer's recommended revs at WOT or you will shorten the engine's life.

BoatDrinksQ5

Petty Officer 1st Class

I would guess it would be related to letting the engine go to a high RPM and/or WOT at least once in a while to let the engine be fully exercised and clean out engine....etc... Full flow through carb flush it better?

i know i have seen plenty of people state something to that effect on a handful of threads here.

I don't know anything about this topic - but it has always made a small amount of sense to me.

fmalott

Chief Petty Officer

reading this forum for a few years now i only see WOT when a repair is being done on a engine to see if the problem can be narrowed done to a certain thing and then when the repair is done you WOT to see if the problem comes back. If you want a boat to wot all the time buy a cigar boat

whatisup02