Winterizing

hogluvr

Seaman Apprentice
Hi,

New boat owner and newbie here, I just bought a 1992 Four Winns 190 Horizon with a 5.0 HO OMC Cobra. I've found some stuff in an OMC manual that was given to me but I want to order supplies so I can winterize this thing, and I'm afraid I'm going to forget something. I saw too many people trying to sell boats with "milky oil". I looked at the other thread on a similar boat but have some specific questions. What weight and type of oil do I need for the motor, same for the outdrive? How do I find out things like what filter I need, and servicing things like the water separator? I can't find anything specific to this boat, just generalizations. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated, thanks in adavance!

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
first, welcome aboard

what supplies besides oil and filter?

process:
with engine on muffs, fire it up and warm up the oil
change engine oil and filter
turn on the muffs again, fire up the engine and check for leaks.
turn off engine

if you want to change the fuel/water filter, do so prior to changing oil.

pull the 4 plugs - both the block plugs and the manifold plugs. probe around the ports with a screw or wire to make sure the ports are clear

pull the big J hose and drain
pull the hose to the transom shield and drain

engine is now winterized

drain the gear lube from outdrive
pressure test if you find milky lube.
re-fill per factory manual

drive is now winterized

remove drive and inspect gimble bearing, alignment, u-joints and bellows
pull raw water impeller for inspection

re-grease wheel bearings on trailer
adjust and service the brakes

then to prevent critters, use drier sheets and irish spring soap cut into shavings and placed in disposable bowls around your boat

cover with a good weather-proof cover and store the boat.

Lou C

Supreme Mariner