Winter gardens anyone?

Bassy

Lieutenant Commander
Its finally cooling down and am getting ready to start planting: broccoli,cauliflower,carrots,celery,onions and probably some others too.<br /> Anyone out there plant a winter garden? If so, what do you grow?<br />Bassy

Barlow

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Winter gardens anyone?

Green snow cones, Lemon ice, and 'Cherries Garcia'<br /><br /> :p :D <br /><br />Sorry Bassy, I couldn't resist.

steve n carol

Chief Petty Officer

Bassy, Squaw Valley is near Lake Thaoe isn't it?<br />I love my garden, so do the snails. I think I'll feed the snails and serve em up to Steve, I'll tell him that they are mushrooms!<br />My garden dosen't get enough sunshine and in the winter it gets even less. But I plant anyway! broccoli dosen't do well nor does cauliflower. I haven't tried carrots. <br />It gives me great piece of mind just to go out and get my hands in the dirt. Steve says I'm just getting into my second childhood, but i love it. BTW, the name of our street is Squaw Valley! HA HA.

tylerin

Commander

Over a dozen various fruit tree's to take care of here in SoCal and somethings growing behind the barn that appears to be budding ;)

one more cast

Captain

The only things that will be growing at my house this winter will be the snow banks, the fuel bill and my belly. :D

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Used to have winter gardens. <br /><br />The deer will not permit it at The Hideout. They eat anything green as soon as it pops up.<br /><br />I used to grow broccoli, cauliflower, brussels sprouts, collards and peas.

ehenry

Commander

I've always done a winter garden. Turnip and mustard greens, broccoli, multiplying and sweet onions, rutabegga's, carrots, fall tomatoes, lettuce. Thats what I got in the ground right now. I may plant something else if the urge strikes me.

sangerwaker

Commander

About the only thing that grows around here in the winter is my desire for spring!

LadyFish

Admiral