Why is finding information on boats so difficult?

NorinRadd

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Im new to boating, been an auto mechanic most of my life.

Why does it seem like finding any basic info is the same as trying to solve the 8 wonders of the world?!? ffs. Its not fun lol wild goose hunts for basic things.

Even just trying to decode serial numbers and figure out wtf you are working with is a damn treasure hunt. Let alone the most basic info once youre past that.

I need to replace the seals on my tilt trim. Sourced the parts. Sourced a video on how to. Dont know what fkn model sterndrive I have. Should be the most basic thing

a data base of serials doesnt exist!?! There is literally everything imaginable available on the internet. Except for info on boat engines…. 😅😂🤯

Ive had this boat for 2 years. Yet to get it in the water because there is no info for it anywhere and im starting with zero knowledge.

So do most people
In my position just pay a mechanic to do everything?

Attachments

• IMG_2236.jpeg
    IMG_2236.jpeg
    43.4 KB · Views: 0

jimmbo

Supreme Mariner
You don't say what Make your I/O is, what HP, or even what Year.
Mercury maintains a Database of all of its Serial Numbers, as the Parts Departments at Dealers do look parts up that Way.

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
Regardless if it's a Merc, VP, OMC, etc. there are identification guides in the stickies.

Your 7 paragraph post doesn't have one but of information on what you are working on

tpenfield

Staff member
You'll get there, but In the boating world serial numbers do not tend to decode as they may in the automotive world.

There are boat HIN numbers . . . similar to VIN in the automotive world. As for the engines, those tend to be serial number ranges, and do not relate in any way to the boat that they are installed in.