why carpet... why???

jprice

Seaman
I'm still relatively new to boating. Have had a 14' seadoo speedster for 2 years, and it's time to upgrade. Mainly because of it's size, the fact that it chugs the gas, and the ride can get really rough when the lake gets choppy.
Although one of the features that I absolutely love about it was that it was 100% fiberglass. No matter how much mud, muck, and sand we tracked into it, it was just a simple hose down when we got home.

So now I'm looking at getting a 17'-18' bowrider. It seems like the perfect size/style for us, as we mainly just cruise around, stop at various swim spots, and do some tubing.
But the part that kills me is that they all have carpet! I understand that it's marine carpeting, but if you could see how much muck the kids and dog can bring back into the boat, you'd be cringing like I am. I just don't know how we'd get it clean. Not to mention, carpet holds moisture, and moisture promotes mold, mildew, and rot.

Maybe it's because I'm still a noob boater, but I just don't get it. Why carpet?

LippCJ7

Vice Admiral
Re: why carpet... why???

Wow! If you don't want carpet then get a boat without it! Keep looking there are plenty out there you just have to find it.

Personally I prefer it, keeps the boat cooler and gives it a homely feel. Kids and the dog dragging stuff into the boat? sorry that doesn't happen there are no shoes allowed in my boat so that doesn't happen, the biggest issue we have is the hair from the Lab (The Hair Factory) but that's part of the experience for us.

I think that the difference is that your children are probably younger then mine, I only have one left at home and she is a Sophomore in High School but having younger kids I can see the advantage in having snap in carpet as far as cleaning.