Where to start!!?? 1997 Monark Pro 160

411sponge

Cadet
Hello all! First time poster here so I would just like to introduce myself. My name is Bill and I live in Central Florida. I was born and raised here and I finally want to take that plunge into the wonderful world of boating.:p I also have to admit that I am a total nOOb when it comes to buying and or repairing boats so I must applogize in advance of this post. :facepalm:

I am on a tight budget so I have been keeping my eye open in this area for a fishing/leisure boat when I ran across an ad for a 1997 Monark Pro160. I went to the seller's house and took some of the attached pictures (since I know you all love the pics) :D Obviously, it's not brand new, however, the wood seems very sturdy and it seems to be taken care of to some extent. The seller mentioned that this boat has a "special" Mariner magnum motor that actually has around 50 horsepower compared to the listed 40 (is that true?? :confused:).

It seems like the perfect size for me and the wife to stroll around some of the freshwater lakes and rivers in my area. I would also possibly like to restore this boat on my own (of course, with all of your help, lol). He is asking $2750 for the boat and I have no idea if that is a fair price or not so I wanted to check with all of you for your opinion. Also, is there anything I should ask, and or check for when inspecting this boat?? The seller did mention that the batteries were dead so he couldn't start the motor today but he said he would charge them tommorrow and start her up for me on Sunday. He seems to be very nice and honest person but I feel like a deer caught in the headlights when I purchase something big like this. :eek:

Also, how easy are they to work on? Are they easy to get parts for if something does break?

So, do you guys think this boat is worth the $2,750? ANY information would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks in advance gang!!

Attachments

• Side View.jpg
    Side View.jpg