Where to find a $3000-4000 dollar boat? And What to look for/what to avoid?

Justakid

Recruit
Hello,

I'm new to the boating world and looking to purchase a speedboat in the $3000-4000 range. I've spent hours on craigslist but I really don't know what I should be looking for in terms of engines, brands etc. I live in Victoria,BC but am willing to travel to anywhere in Washington State to pick up a boat. I found this boat which I like but I emailed the seller and he said it has a 2.3L ford 135Hp engine with cobra outdrive. I did some research and it appears that engine/outdrive should be avoided. I also heard that Bayliners in particular are prone to rot. Another opinion on this boat would be great:http://seattle.craigslist.org/see/boa/3076644360.html.

Any other expertise anyone is willing to share in this seemingly complicated process would be greatly appreciated!

smoedog

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Where to find a $3000-4000 dollar boat? And What to look for/what to avoid?

I was in the same "boat" when I was looking at my first boat. I want to spend no more than 4k for a generic bowrider. I didn't want to finance anything just in case the family didn't like boating or what not.

I ended up getting a 17ft 92 glastron bowrider for 3200. Im glad I paid cash just due to the fact all the small issues i've had, i didn't have to be pissed that i was making payments on a boat I couldn't use.

Im no boating expert, but with my personal experience, with this price range plan on whatever you purchase to be a throw away boat. Its gonna be a boat that you learn on, learn the mechanics of boats, the operations of boats and the fun of them.

Like I said, im no expert, I've had my first boat since march. I had a small budget, meaning and older boat with lots of bugs, but all in all, no matter how annoyed I get at it when it breaks, once i fix and splash it again, its all worth it.