What radio?

sasa73

Seaman Apprentice
Hello. I'm new to boating world and i'm not sure what kind of radio should i get for my boat. Someone say CB, others VHF..... so lets vote and get this figured out for me............ :)
THANKS FOR YOUR TIME

120_i/o

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: What radio?

sasa, A VHF rig is by far the way to go for marine. They are usually built to hold up better in a marine environment, and have more power.

Fireman431

Rear Admiral

VHF for marine environments. Higher communication frequencies, longer range, waterproof. CB radios generally don't belong in a boat, but there are still some boaters who use them for quick communications. Coast Guard, Marine Patrol, FWC, bridge operators, Sea Tow, etc all monitor marine VHF, not CB. They monitor channels 16 & 9.

foodfisher

Captain

10-4 Good Buddy, me and this load of chickens will come and tow you and your boat to safety.

cyclops2

Banned

Smokie & the Bandit never did a 10 -4 on water.

VHF with side bands is always a first choice in MOST American waters & offshore.

Next is a Cellphone.

Then we get DEADLY SERIOUS....a EPIRB type of emergency transmitter....life or death use only.

Now we can buy the CB radio.

dave11

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Buy a floating hand held VHF radio. Icom makes good ones. Always have it with you if you are on any boat.

JoLin

Vice Admiral

I agree, however, it would help to know where the OP does his boating, and what people in his area are using.

I wouldn't be without BOTH my fixed-mount and handheld VHF's, but I've read from many inland boaters right here that on many lakes, there's no local emergency help, and nobody listening to those channels. If that's the case, a CB and/or cell phone might be more valuable.

My .02

UncleWillie

Captain

Hello. I'm new to boating world and i'm not sure what kind of radio should i get for my boat. Someone say CB, others VHF..... so lets vote and get this figured out for me............ :)
THANKS FOR YOUR TIME