What is a gelcoat and do I have one on my boat???

tonyd4105

Recruit
I am new to refinishing boats and I just bought my first fiber glass boat and i'm lost... I'm guessing that a gelcoat is like polyurethane is to wood. Its a 14ft boat built 30-40 years ago. I've been reading about repainting it and I don't think it has a gelcoat. There is no gloss or sheen and it is an ugly aqua. Am i right to assume there is no gelcoat? And if I am correct, is there anything I need to do but clean and sand it for new coats?

Dunaruna

Admiral
Re: What is a gelcoat and do I have one on my boat???

It will have gelcoat but after 40 years it is most likely very badly worn and/or repainted. Either way, a good sand and fill followed by a VERY good de-wax and your good to begin the repainting process. These days, Polyurethane paint is tougher/better/easier to apply than gelcoat.

oops!

Supreme Mariner

I am new to refinishing boats and I just bought my first fiber glass boat and i'm lost... I'm guessing that a gelcoat is like polyurethane is to wood. Its a 14ft boat built 30-40 years ago. I've been reading about repainting it and I don't think it has a gelcoat. There is no gloss or sheen and it is an ugly aqua. Am i right to assume there is no gelcoat? And if I am correct, is there anything I need to do but clean and sand it for new coats?

hi tony.....welcome to i boats :)

that aqua blue stuff............is gellcoat.!

kinda a robins egg blue
it was popular in the 60's and early seventies.

see the first page of the hull extensoin thread and see if that is the color.
and the last 5 pages.....if you had any thoughts of re gellcoating.

gellcoat is a really good....hard....type of pigmented polyester based resin......(there is a lot more to it than that ....but that is a laymans explanation)

it can outlast any paint that you would care to put on.....

i take it that you hate the color........well that's ok......its your boat