Two year rebuild with questions

General0

Cadet
Hello, I have a 1976 or 79 (depending on what paper work you look at!!)14.5 ft Allsport tri-hull that I have been working on for the last TWO years!!!??? There is a piece of what used to be the id tag on it that says it was made in Wisconsin. Any one ever run across one of these or ever heard of the company? I have only seen one other like this for sale on the internet and I can't find anything on the company. My problem is that I had to redo the one stringer, the transom, and floor. I went from the conventional and instead of taking the top off I cut the back top cap off on one side only and wedge the sandwitched 3/4 ply's in from one side. It worked fine and I know it is attached all the way to the bottom because all the old screw holes had epoxy seeping out of them down to where the drain plug is and there aren't any hollow sounds are coming from anywhere I have tapped on it. I sanded the pieces of the rear cap and the splashwell that I cut off at a grade so that when I glue them back on it will have more material to build up from where it was cut. I will post some pictures of it when I get a chance. Is this an OK method? The other issue is the floor did not go all the way to the sides of the gunwale's. I made a template of the floor before I cut it out and I was baffled that the floor did not contact the sides at all. There is about a 12 inch space of just the bottom of the boat that does not have floor board on it??? Again, I will take some pictures for examples. I know this is how it was designed because the floor at the front where the bow seats are is level with the floor and stringer. If I wanted to put a floor all the way across it would raise it about 3-4 inches in the front and cause a step to the bow area? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

crunch

Commander
Re: Two year rebuild with questions