Trolling questions....

2stroke1971

Petty Officer 1st Class
I am new to trolling, but not fishing.
Trying for some rock fish on the Chesapeake bay. I have a few questions.

I was looking at some depth charts for lures and they talk about a 30 foot mono leader. Huh? A 30 FOOT leader?! so....after reeling that goes hand over hand? Sounds like a pain in the backside to store and deploy.

So in the most basic sense...lets say I want to put out a single mojo, say 20 oz. No leader needed right? No drop weight, its plenty heavy right? Put it on the end of a heavy swivel and let it out right? Seems obvious, but Ive found no clear guide to the basics anywhere.

Say I want to run a large spoon at 20 or 30 feet. (Or any light lure) Currently, I use a drop weight, inline....Hook the weight to my swivel, and then Ive got about 10 feet of mono after the weight and I hook that to the light lure. Make any sense?

I have a couple of umbrellas. The heaviest one is 4 oz...so unless I have a heavy mojo or something in the middle, I need a drop weight for that also right?

I have seen alot of folks coming in with TWO parachutes neatly stored on each of the 38 rods they have hanging off a 20 foot boat...what is that about? Sure, I know that you can put out two lures at once...Ive tried a heavy mojo and paired it up with a lighter lure, using the mojo for the drop weight so to speak...but what is the way to rig two equally weighted lures like that?

Im not looking to use spreaders, planers, etc.... Four rods is all I care to put out.
Any advice or ideas or comments would be greatly appreciated!

dingbat

Supreme Mariner
Re: Trolling questions....

I am new to trolling, but not fishing.
Trying for some rock fish on the Chesapeake bay. I have a few questions.

I was looking at some depth charts for lures and they talk about a 30 foot mono leader. Huh? A 30 FOOT leader?! so....after reeling that goes hand over hand? Sounds like a pain in the backside to store and deploy.