Tohatsu 4hp fuel selector switch stuck

jplee3

Cadet
Hi all,

I'm considering purchasing a 4hp Tohatsu off CL. The guy selling it said the fuel selector switch is frozen/stuck and so he has only used it with an the external tank.

I figure this probably isn't a huge deal but was curious if it's an easy fix and what is involved. I have no prior experience with outboards or engine work but just wondering if the selector switch can easily be swapped out?

MattFL

Master Chief Petty Officer
The fuel selector is likely an easy fix, just swap the part. However that selector being stuck is a sign that the rest of the motor may not be well cared for. Have it looked at by someone familiar with motors.

jplee3

Cadet
The fuel selector is likely an easy fix, just swap the part. However that selector being stuck is a sign that the rest of the motor may not be well cared for. Have it looked at by someone familiar with motors.
He said he had it flushed and service at the end of each season but who knows. He sent pics of the valve, model/serial # and a video of the motor running. The valve does look corroded. The video sounds ok but i wouldnt know what to listen for specifically if there are issues. Its the MFS4BD with serial ending in XG which indicates '07. I cant find the relevant parts for that model based on year though so not sure which parts are appropriate ar least via the Tohatsu.us parts website

One thing he mentioned is that he has the parts for the 6hp upgrade (extra $100 cost) but just never got around to installing it.