Tohatsu 3.5 - sheared pin?

Killyleagh

Cadet
I'm completely new to outboards. Nine times out of ten when I engage drive the prop spins with no resistance; the odd time it turns the motor over. What is this likely to be, and how do I check? Many thanks.

Killyleagh

Cadet
Re: Tohatsu 3.5 - sheared pin?

Sorted! I simply removed the prop and the broken shear pin fell out. New one ordered. That's the simplest repair imaginable!

Wee Hooker

Chief Petty Officer

There is actually a little rubber plug somwhere on the top end of that motor ( near carry handle or under cowling, I forget) where you can keep/should have a spare pin and cotterpin. It's common on these motors to pop these pins by either hitting something or putting it into gear at too high a RPM. Get spares and keep them with you! It woun't be your last.

pvanv

Admiral

Keep in mind that there are two different pins available for these -- brass and stainless. We are using stainless for all our customers these days. It's a little more tolerant of shock loading.

The motor needs to be running SLOWLY when engaging the gears, or even the stainless pin will shear.

TOHATSU GURU

Admiral

I hear EvinRuse plans to come out with a line of small ETECs with unbreakable shear pins that will be far superior to those breakable shear pins that the sub standard Japanese engines use:)

Wee Hooker

Chief Petty Officer

"I hear EvinRuse plans to come out with a line of small ETECs with unbreakable shear pins that will be far superior to those breakable shear pins that the sub standard Japanese engines use"

Ok Elvin, I KNOW your having some fun /trolling here but it should be pointed out ( for newbe's)that shearing the pin when you hit something is a good thing and designed in to protect the gear train.

Whoopbass

Senior Chief Petty Officer

How does a plastic prop bust in half a stout, inch long, stainless steel pin?
This never has made sense to me since it seems the last thing to go would be the shear pin.

TOHATSU GURU