Tips to towing a small alum boat and 15hp outboard

77buzzer

Cadet
Does anyone know how I should have my outboard motor positioned while towing? Should the motor be down or tilted? Should it be turned one way and strapped? My boat is a 14ft alum with 15" transom and I have a ss 2006 15hp 2 stroke mercury. Any other tips would be great. Thanks I'm new to boating

robert graham

Admiral
Re: Tips to towing a small alum boat and 15hp outboard

Get a Transom Saver ($25) to secure your motor and prevent it flopping around back there. Check, grease wheel bearings, check/replace older tires, carry spare tire and small jack in case of blow-out on highway, plenty of tie-down straps in front and back at transom...ratchet tie-downs work good and are cheap enough. Safety chain between boat trailer and hitch(required by law), and make great sense anyway. Northern Tools and Harbor Freight carry lots of Trailer parts, etc., also Walmart has a good bit of stuff back in sporting goods....

bonz_d

Vice Admiral

How much clearance do you have with the engine down? I tow with mine down with plenty of clearance between the ground and skeg.

Home Cookin'

Fleet Admiral

How much clearance do you have with the engine down? I tow with mine down with plenty of clearance between the ground and skeg.

I'd say a foot. But you still could have issues at dips--like going up a steep driveway from a road with a pronounced crown.

for that reason you may want to trailer with it up--just use the tilt lever, it will be fine and you don't need anything else for normal roads. bumpy roads, strap it down tight against the tilt lever. If your steering is loose, it may fall over to one side, no problem; it won't flop over to the other.

Some people who are concerned about the transom remove the motor and lay it in the boat over the axle.

bonz_d

Vice Admiral

Haven't measured mine but best guess is much more than a foot clearance in my case.

Expidia

Commander