Tilt / Trim Problem and Gear Lube Drain

xenus7850

Cadet
I have two seperate problems here and as you read through this I am new to boating, but learning fast, especially what B.O.A.T stands for, which seems to be very true (Break Out Another Thousand).

I have a 23.6 foot Rinker Captiva Cuddy with a Bravo 454 engine.

1st. issue is that once I take my prop all the way up for trailering and transport, about 1-2 days later the prop has come all the way down. I have checked the tilt / trim fluid and it was a bit low and was like a yellowish milkshake in color. I pumped all of the fluid out of the resevior and put new fluid in, but that did not correct the problem. I was told that there may be air in the line or water getting into the sytem. Any idea which one it would be? What would you suggest to try next? I thought about draining all the liqued, but now sure how to do that, unles I disconnect the hoses / lines that go into the back of the motor by the prop, where the hydrollics are at, but not sure if this will do it. If I do this though, will it fix the problem? If water is getting into the system, what is the most like culpret? I guess what I am asking is what does the yellow milkshake color usually indicate, if it is water what should I do and/or try.

the second issue is I was looking for the gear lube drain that I was told should be at the very bottom of the prop, but I do not seem to have one, there appears to be one at the top though. Is it possibkle to not have a drain at the bottom of the prop motor? How should I change it out if there is no drain plug/screw? It does have like a water bottle looking resevior full of gear lube in the engine area that I assume fills the outdrive when it needs it, but how do I drain all of it out with no bottem drain? I was told by a marina that it has to have one, but I have looked about 5 times now and there is nothing there!

Please help me if you can.

woody66912

Senior Chief Petty Officer