Tilt Trim Position while Running

phwrd

Petty Officer 1st Class
Hey ya'll,

I have not found any good advise on what is the best position for my trim, motor angle, at what speed ?

Down, Up or inbetween ? Best gas consumption, best overall speed ? Are there any threads out there that i missed ?

Thanks

Jamie Z

Cadet
Re: Tilt Trim Position while Running

I'm new to this, but one thing I've noticed is that without changing engine RPM, changing the tilt can add or subtract a few tenths of a knot up or down. Clearly, the trim has an effect on efficiency, but I suspect it varies depending on conditions.

Jamie

jaxnjil

Lieutenant

i like to trim what ever rpm i want to run.
i get the rpm and then trim to the most gps mph i can get at that rpm.
i had a fuel flow meter for awhile and that is also the most economical setting as a general rule.
on still glass you can trim bow up higher than if the lake is running. then you will want to drop the bow and cut the waves for a better ride. heading will always make a difference. in to the wind and weather away from or quartering all change the way you trim at the time.

as a side note we had an alpha drive and bumping the trim up or down a little bit could make quite a difference at times. you could piddle with the trim and get to a sweet spot. now we run a b3 and it it isnt near as fussy about where the trim is set.
it must grab enough water so that its effective in a broader range of trim positions. it seems like it dosnt want as much as the old alpha used to like.

Jeep Man

Commander

Trim will vary, depending on the angle of the hull. Ideally the prop will be 90 degrees to the surface. As the angle changes due to speed and load, so should your trim.

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

rule of thumb. getting out of the hole, trim all the way down, when bow drops start to trim out, every boat is different, find the happy spot. it will differ in conditions, weight, and placement of the weight.

JoLin

Vice Admiral