That Sinking feeling and lessons learned.

roscozen

Petty Officer 3rd Class
i've been boating for 6 years.

yesterday while fishing i started catching fish, one after another while drifting. i took a minute to drop anchor but, in a hurry, i just tied off at the stern cleat.

swells were splashing a bit into the splashwell, but that's no big deal, i thought.

my buddy says "we're really getting a lot of water in here, but i didn't even look because i was busy rebaiting.

that's when i felt water soaking into my shoes.

i turned and saw the transom was nearly underwater.
the anchor line was pulling the stern down into the oncoming swell and every one was now breaking over the transom.

i hit the bilge pump switch.

nothing.
almost under now.

nothing to use to bail manually.

tried to start the outboard motor.
no start, battery and bottom of motor now submerged.

finally it started.

no time to pull up anchor, i turned and drove towards it at an angle so as not to get rope tangled in the prop.
luckily it broke loose from bottom.

but the boat is moving too slow. too much water weight
gave my buddy the helm and snapped on the anchor retrieval bouy and gave the motor full throttle while i dove into the water in the back now thigh high and pulled the plugs from the well and deck rear.
after a lifetime ( about 3 or 4 minutes ) i could see that the water was half gone from the deck and all gone from the splashwell.

still towing anchor, we turned round back towards bouy w/anchor hanging from it. turned too sharp and nearly capsized as the starboard side dipped way too low, but managed to straighten out in time.

grabbed the anchor and buoy and pulled in the rope and headed for home.

after 5 more minutes enough water was sucked out thru the drain holes that i replaced them and we were able to throttle down both the motor and our hearts.
the only loss was my cell phone that got fried in the salt water. it was in my pocket and on at the time.

LESSONS LEARNED