Tell tail water never warms

Lootas1

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Just bought a nice 1985 Honda BF100. Starts and runs great. Sends out a good stream of water but, even after five minutes of running in tank (both idle and some higher speeds) the water remains cold. Not at all warmer than when I start the motor and water temp is in the 40s F. A friend with a similar (but newer Honda) says that no need to worry about the thermostat not opening. The engine doesn't overheat. How can that be? Is he right? I'm no mechanic and it looks like replacing the thermostat is a rather major job.

jrttoday

Lieutenant Junior Grade
it's OK to be concerned, but don't freak out..... yet!! lol An outboard is not an outboard and I have Johnson and Mariner two stroke outboards, but in theory much is the same. Get ahold of two temp sticks appropriate to your motor - high/low.

make marks on the head and the low should melt, and not the high. In a tank, my little 8hp Mariner never melts the low just idling on a cool day - and that's not saying anything about how your's should operate

scout-j-m

Chief Petty Officer
The temp of the water coming out of the tell tale isn't necessarily the best way to judge the engine operating temp. Water comes out of the tell tale no matter if the engine's thermostat is open or not. I don't have any experience with Hondas/Nissans/Tohatsus but on my Force the tell tale water never got real warm until it had been idling in the tub for a while. I equate this to the tub's water heating up due to the warmer water and exhaust being spit out through the prop hub and into the tank. Even idling in a warm summer lake, the tell tale water never got too much warmer than the actual lake water.