Stringers

SS MoneyPit

Cadet
I am on a tight budget and don't know how to fiberglass. I have taken out the rotten stringers and they were 1x's. What can I use to affix them to the hull of the boat. I am new to this boat building deal and any help would be appreciative. Thanks.

JGREGORY

Lieutenant
Re: Stringers

SS Sounds Like you and I are in the same boat sort of, I don't want to spend a whole lot of money but I want the job done as good as possible.<br /><br />First get the book Runabout Renovation that will answer some of you most basic questions.<br /><br />Next, You have found the best site on the web for project boat building Take a look at the Jason's project (2 different Jason's).<br /><br />As for cost you will have a lot of people talking about Epoxy resins, While they are strong and will last go with polyester resins if your concerned about money, My own situation I only plan on holding onto the boat for 5-10 years leaning toward 5 before I move up. <br /><br />I spent about $250 @ uscomposites.com for foam resin. Still need to spend about another $100 for Cab-O-Sil and other items, the Cab-O-Sil mixed with the resin creates a paste that holds the stringer into place so that you can glass the stringer in place.<br /><br />See here also for good ideas to do what need to be done with out building a battleship.<br /><br />specifically what Snapperbait is saying.<br /><br /> http://www.iboats.com/cgi-bin/ubb/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=26;t=001621 <br /><br />Good Luck and welcome to the boards.

SS MoneyPit

Cadet

Can I apply a fiberglass resin w/hardner without putting down a mat over the stringers. Reason I am asking is that the middle stringer has sometype of hardner that is clear. I didn't know what it was. Thanks.

phatmanmike

Captain

jasonJ did his ENTIRE project with resin, ! he used nothing but the cheep stuff, and people praise his work, epoxy is great stuff, but.....$$$$$$$$$

JasonJ

Rear Admiral