sterndrive oil type?

Status
Not open for further replies.

layzeeboi

Cadet
I am kind of new to boating so...i need some help.i have a 1985 bayliner capri volvo 4cyl engine with volvo penta sterndrive.i dont know what type of sterndrive oil i should put. There is a label on the back that says PZ NR:27114392D. Is that the engine type? Any help would be apreciated:)

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: sterndrive oil type?

30W engine oil.

layzeeboi

Cadet
sterndrive lower unit oil change

sterndrive lower unit oil change

i have a 1985 bayliner 4cyl volvo engine with volvo penta sterndrive. im planning to change my oil for the sterndrive lower unit before heading out to the lake in a few weeks. i just want to know what type of gear oil i should put. My PZNR: 27114392D. I did some research and it say to use the same the engine oil which is 10W-40, but im not sure ..i dont want to put the wrong type of oil. im not sure if 10w-40 is not thick enough for the sterndrive lower unit. Thanks a lot:D

QC

Supreme Mariner
Re: sterndrive lower unit oil change

Re: sterndrive lower unit oil change

Hey layzeeboi, welcome aboard!! I have moved this over tho the I/O section to get a more focused response. Good luck!

Edit: It looks like Don answered your original thread. I merged the two after finding that . . . ;)

Gary H NC

Fleet Admiral

I don't think Volvo ever called for 10w-40......

Straight 30 weight as Don said in the engine and drive.

Don S

I don't think Volvo ever called for 10w-40......

Straight 30 weight as Don said in the engine and drive.

10W40 is what the manual says, there was a later service bulletin that changed it to straight 30W, and actually went back to 10W40 in a later one. Either will work, I just like a straight 30W in drives.

Gary H NC

Fleet Admiral

Thanks Don....another bit of info i need to remember.
I agree too....i like using straight 30 in most cases anyway.:)

Don S