Starting when hot

wtg2320

Seaman
I have had some issues with my 3.0 Mercruiser starting after driving it for a while. It will turn over fine, but will not start for about 5 minutes. I am new to boating so I am not sure if I am properly starting it right when warm. Should I leave the throttle in neutral or should I give it half or full throttle? I brought it to a marina and they ran it on the muffs and they said they could not get it to act up. They also said that the plugs wires and distributer cap needed to be replaced, so I did that. I am taking it back on the water this weekend to see if that helps. My main question once again is how would you suggest to start when warm? I had tried different things but none worked. I just want to make sure I am not adding human error into the equation this weekend while I am trying to see if it starts better now. Thanks.

Bondo

Staff member
Ayuh,..... Normally, with a motor in good tune, just the touch of the key, should restart the motor,.....

If ya gotta go to neutral, 'n advance the throttle to restart, that would suggest a carb problem,....
If ya gotta pump the throttle to restart it, the carb is for Sure a problem,.....

'n of course, there's varyin' degrees of the motor bein' outa tune, 'n the effort it takes to restart it, sorta determines what needs tunin', 'n how badly it needs it,.....

Most likely the carb needs to be cleaned. I just had the same type of problem and just picked my boat up from the mechanic today, took out for an hour spin after he rebuild and cleaned my carb and it’s like a brand new boat all over again!

JimS123

Fleet Admiral
When my 3.0 is cold I pump the throttle twice, advance it slightly and it fires up in a few seconds. Then, I back off the throttle to attain about 1000 rpm until the choke cuts out. Then, I back off the throttle to idle and it runs smooth and I shift into gear.