Starting Out

MisterNixter

Cadet
Hi everybody. I'm new here so I hope you will forgive me if this has been asked before. In fact, I'm sure it has but I can't find where. I've had a few 12-14 foot aluminum boats before that I used on small lakes in northern Arizona. But now we are spending a lot of time in Florida and we have decided we'd like a bigger boat. Basically something for fishing the Indian River and the flats in the Keys. Day trips only, no overnight sleeping quarters needed. We have seen several center console boats like Makos and Sea Hunt in the 20-24 foot range and think that would work for us, but we have no idea where to start our research and what to look for in a boat. It would usually be just the two of us, and we have no interest in going very far offshore. We're complete newbies at this and any input would be much appreciated.

southkogs

Staff member
Re: Starting Out

Welcome aboard!

Are you buying new or used? If new, then some other guys might chime in on favorite brands. If you're buying used condition is the key and the best place to start research is probably looking at ads here on iBoats or CraigsList.

MisterNixter

Cadet

Thanks for the welcome. We'll go used and I've been looking online. Just not sure what to look for and what to look out for. We've got a lot to learn.

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner

Some basics for shopping for a Used boat.

1.) Make sure Titles are current and "In Hand"
2.) Ask for all maintenance records on the Motor.
3.) Pay a Marine Mechanic to do a Compression Check (if it's and OUtboard)
4.) Be prepared to get Under the boat and IN the boat to do a thorough inspection.
5.) Check the outside of the hull for Cracks, gouges and bare glass. Check the transom for cracks and discoloration around any mechanical fasteners. Bounce the leg of the outboard and check if there's any flex.