Spraying metal flake

bjly92

Cadet
Hey guys,

I picked up my first boat ever this year. It's been really fun, up until the motor died. I am in the process of a full rebuild on that.

However while waiting for the block from the machine shop I decided to paint the outboard and the engine parts that I had and it started to look good. Now I want to redo the hull.

I have some experience with HVLP spraying but usually just small projects. I have never sprayed metal flake before but this is the look I want to go for.

1. I am curious on the prep process if it would differ from prepping a car for paint?
  2. I am going for full coverage with the flakes so would a base coat be necessary?
  3. Can you spray the clear coat mixed with flake directly over primer?
  4. Is a base coat needed if we are going with full coverage?
  5. would it be successful in anyway if I just decided to sand and clean the old paint and spray clear coat with the metal flake over it?
  6. Does anyone have any brand or product recommendations or tips?

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
You are spraying gel. Unless you really want to spend some serious money on clear marine 2-part urethane

Here is some reading

@ondarvr and @mickyryan can chime in.

mickyryan

Rear Admiral
So my present project I've been regelcoating flaking with big flake and also used same flake on outboard but with automotive paint nason, it's imron renamed I was told , anyways I first did a base coat of color I wanted them I did the flake mixed in clear coat nason clear/ clear gel coat
I used husky hlvp gun that I drilled top out to a 2.5 tip it sprays big flake well and gel coat unthinned, don't set air too high or the flake travels, don't set too low or orangepeel gets huge with that tip size on boat if using gel def use duratek on last coat of clear , plan on using allot of clear to bury flake feel free to ask any questions :)

mickyryan

Rear Admiral
Hey guys,