Smoke out the telltale!! Mercury 9.8

Rodman738

Seaman Apprentice
Recently purchased a 79 mercury 9.8. Motor will start,smoke will come out of telltale for a few seconds when water starts coming through telltale engine will stall! I'm no mechanic but I'm thinking I have a bad gasket? Just wanting a second opinion thanks. Love these Darn Mercury's!!

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
exhaust cover gasket would be my thought

Scott Danforth

Staff member
nice looking Hellion in your pic

Rodman738

Seaman Apprentice
Thanks Scott! Hopefully I can get this Mercury running and get it back on the lake. I will probably just get a gasket kit . Probably as soon as I replace one another will go. Thanks for advice!! What kind of speed did you get out of your Hellion with 9.8? My Johnson overheated but I got 21 mph with it.

Sea Rider

Supreme Mariner
Being such an oldie, replace head and exhaust gaskets, take advantage to decarbon piston heads, exhaust chamber and cylinder head, ckeck/replace thermostat/gasket, water pump's liner/impeller condition. Clean all water passages...

Happy Boating

racerone

Supreme Mariner
??----There is no cylinder head on that 9.8 motor !-----There may not be a thermostat either.

Scott Danforth

Staff member
Thanks Scott! Hopefully I can get this Mercury running and get it back on the lake. I will probably just get a gasket kit . Probably as soon as I replace one another will go. Thanks for advice!! What kind of speed did you get out of your Hellion with 9.8? My Johnson overheated but I got 21 mph with it.

I never finished it, sold it as a project the day after I installed the '85 electric start 9.8. the guy that bought it, said he hit 27.

I did make a custom set of mini trim tab for the boat. basically a half-scale set of bennet sport tabs. used turn-buckles for the actuators, however had found small hydraulic cylinders if I wanted to power them.

MTboatguy

Fleet Admiral