Several issues w/ 1989 Force 85HP

Hello,

im new to boating and recently purchased a 17 foot invader reef runner that came with the engine noted above. After going through the boat I noticed a couple things that seemed off from the engine. I am currently trying to rebuild the carbs but apparently the rebuild kits are not longer available. I will have to attempt to clean the carbs without replacement parts. The issues that I’m dealing with are a the following:

- lower unit of the engine is leaking oil when I tilt It to its lower position. It seems it is leaking from 4 holes 2 on each side of the lower unit towards the top portion. These small holes are about 20% the size of the vent and filler holes but not sure why it is leaking oil through this area. I have triple checked all forums and haven’t come across this.

- my other problem is that the engine is throwing a good amount of oil through the exhaust I believe as running the engine I noticed a good amount of floating oil on top of the container. Thai oil covered the entire container top area of wager enough to not be able to see through. Engine has 122-124-120PSI on each cylinder.

any suggestions as to what the wholes are and how to stop this leak. Are these whole meant to prevent over filling?

please help as most of the mechanics in the area won’t give you the time of day now and seems I need to take care of this on my own.

Attachments

• photo338291.jpg
    photo338291.jpg
    719.5 KB · Views: 1

Nordin

Commander
These holes are weep holes to drain the LU from water.
You have to pressurize check the LU, there are some seals at the top of the LU that could be bad.
If they leak the gear oil will weep out from the weep/drain holes.

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner
Your second post asking about carbs.
Try to keep it to one.

The floating oil: normal
Running at slow speeds and in a bucket the oil comes from
unburned gas/oil mix.

Do what Nordin suggested, a pressure test.