Roll and Tip Interlux Brightside Paint

nastyquedawg

Petty Officer 3rd Class
OK this is my first time ever painting a boat. I sanded the boat, cleaned the area and attempted to roll and tip but had a few problems. I used a foam roller and a foam brush to tip, but when I began tip it seemed to drag the paint. I dipped the foam brush into the paint, took a cloth to remove the excess paint from the foam brush, and tried it again. Still did not work. I gave up and finished rolling the area and I can see where the roll marks are. Knowing that this is the first coat I believe I can eliminate the roll marks with the second and third coat. I plan on doing the tipping again but will be using a purdy brush(non foam) in hopes to achieve the desired rults. I also purchased some brush thinner(interlux 333) but am unsure how much of it to add to the paint? I also will use 320 grit sand paper to sand between coats. Should I go with the 220 or 320? I plan on doing the 2nd coat tomorrow morning.

redfury

Commander
Re: Roll and Tip Interlux Brightside Paint

You can't use a foam brush for the tipping aspect. You want to use the finest closed cell foam roller you can get to roll the paint on and a good quality brush is essential. Ultimately, you'd want someone else to roll the paint while you do the tipping.

However, there are ways to make the paint more manageable. Different solvents will retard or speed up the dry time of the paint. Generally you don't want to go over 10% thinner by volume...and you really shouldn't need to. I painted the topper on my boat by rolling only. Now that it is cured I plan to sand and buff it smooth. That is an option you can exercise if you have troubles.