riding around with the bimini top up?

jprice

Seaman
Ok, let me preface this by saying that I've owned my boat for all of four days, and only had it out on the water twice.
Yes, I'm a noob.

So anyway, my seadoo speedster came with a bimini top. I still haven't put it up. I guess I've envisioned it as something to put up while casually lounging around. Kind of like a beach umbrella.

My question is, can this thing handle me tooling around at 50mph?
In my mind, I visualize somebody with an umbrella in a hurricane. No match.
Are the bimini tops meant to be used/open when riding around, or should they only be put up when hanging around?

WAVENBYE2

Lieutenant Commander
Re: riding around with the bimini top up?

What condition is it in??

mike343

Petty Officer 1st Class

Depends a lot on the quality of the bimini and the fabric. We have a seven year old Sunbrella top with three SS supports--still in good condition. But I won't go over 30 mph w/o stowing it. The load on the fabric at 50 mph is nearly three times that at 30. Besides that it raises hell with your gas mileage.

TahoeQ4Pilot

Petty Officer 1st Class

My top has two front and two rear straps, so I have no prob cruisin at WOT with it up. ;)

MRS

Commander

If it is tight and the straps do not slip mine is good to go at 40mph......:D

redone4x4

Lieutenant Commander

My top has two front and two rear straps, so I have no prob cruisin at WOT with it up. ;)

yep, me too. we leave it up all the time, from the time we launch til the time we leave. its held up great for 4 years now.

jprice

Seaman

Don't know the model/type, but as far as I can tell, it looks brand new.
Guess I'll put it up and take it slow for a while, see how it goes.
If it rips loose, it'll give me a good story to post back here... :eek:

high'n'dry

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Ok, let me preface this by saying that I've owned my boat for all of four days, and only had it out on the water twice.
Yes, I'm a noob.