Restoring 60's Starcraft aluminum, not sure what model.

kgthekid03

Cadet
Howdy all, my father was about to scrap an aluminum starcraft boat that has been sitting in the yard and I decided to step in. I am new to boat restoration but have been doing fabrication/and repair on jeeps for many years.

I know it is a late 60's Starcraft aluminum boat but that is about it. The aluminum hull has no holes but will need to be completely stripped and repainted. The rest of the boat is in poor poor condition and will have to be redone.

Let me sort out these photos quick and I will get them up...

I basically want to redo all of the woodwork with a nice stain keep a classic look but add some modern touches.

-add a fishing platform to the front of the boat with a swivel fishing chair.
-Fix my trolling motor
-Find a motor for it
-repaint

I started sanding but im going to poke around the forums for a bit see if maybe a chemical stripper will be better for the aluminum. If anybody knows what model boat this is that would be great! I love the old starcraft aluminum boats I think it will make a nice fishing boat for me and my friends.

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
Re: Restoring 60's Starcraft aluminum, not sure what model.

Welcome to iBoats!
Post of them pics so we can see what ya got!!! Make sure you don't use Pressue Treated wood in your boat. The last link in my signature below has some good info on painting on the cheap. This is some GREAT stripper for aluminum but...A bit pricey.
http://www.aircraftspruce.com/menus/cs/paintremovers.html

kgthekid03

Cadet

Boat avatar.gif Here is just a sample I am uploading to an image hosting site more to come soon!

kgthekid03

Cadet

I am going to poke around the forums a bit first so I can form more educated questions and thank you for the welcome!! I made the transom pieces already good thing I didn't use pressure treated. I also started sanding the thing down its just going to take a lot of man hours.

kgthekid03

Cadet