Remove outdrive to pull engine

Status
Not open for further replies.

ericcarr

Petty Officer 1st Class
I recently bought my 1st boat, so im new to all of this. I am mechanically inclined, Do i need to remove the outdrive on my 3.7 liter to pull the engine out of the boat?
Thanks a bunch....

5150abf

Vice Admiral
Re: Help.....

Re: Help.....

Welcome to iboats.

Can't answer your question but "HELP'' isn't a very good title for your thread, try to get a bit of your problem in the title as alot of guys won't even look at threads that say help.

Remove outdrive to pull engine? woudl get the attention you want.

Good luck.

Isaacm1986

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Remove outdrive to pull engine

I have not done it on your specific motor, but i am assuming it is close to the same. this is what I did on my 350 on my bayliner.

no you should not have to remove the outdrive to pull the engine. The engine is hooked up to the outdrive like it would be to a transmission in a car. at the back of the engine where it connect to the bell housing on the outdrive, there should be a series of bolts. unbolt those, disconnect all your hoses, electrical, and motor mounts. you will then need to slide the motor forward (towards the bow) to get the spline to come out. once all that is done you should be able to lift it out.

hope this helps.

IVAZ

Master Chief Petty Officer

Yes, you must first remove the drive.

NoKlu

Senior Chief Petty Officer

You should remove the drive. Some engines can be wiggled out if you leave the drive on but for the time it takes just do it right and remove the drive.

flargin

Chief Petty Officer

Yes, remove the trim cylinder's and the 6 mounting bolts. you can have the motor out in 1 hour if you are new to boats.

You can remove the coupler, but that is a lot harder than removing the 2 retaining bolts in the back.

Head over to the I/O forum and you will find a wealth of information.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus