Regulator/rectifier test

Dawgs

Petty Officer 2nd Class
1998 johnson 130. My batteries won't charge. I start the motor ...get it to 2000 rpm and no rise in voltage to the batteries. I am FAR from an electronics expert but when I tested the RR theses are the readings I get. I know nothing about using the meter but here are the results

Meter set at 2000k.... Yellow wire I got 140 one way and -050 the other way
Yellow/gray. 200 one way and -30 the other

Meter set at 20m...... Yellow wire. -.10 one way and .15 the other
Yellow/gray. -.10 one way and .15 the other

Is the RR shot or good?

schematic

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Regulator/rectifier test

Don't waste your time toiling over meter readings on anything more complex than a bare bones rectifier.

Simply make sure all wires and connections to the unit are supplying what they should.

-good ground
-battery voltage
-good a/c from stator
-on some....voltage from key switch

if the unit doesn't charge with everything up to snuff......pitch it

Dawgs

Petty Officer 2nd Class

How do I test ac from stator? I know I have no dc from RR

hidef

Lieutenant

Go to page 7 of the CDI guide and follow the steps for troubleshooting charging issues. The link is in my sig.

schematic

Lieutenant Junior Grade

How do I test ac from stator? I know I have no dc from RR

Measure a/c from yellow leads from stator while running. (using a/c mode on meter)

How do you know you have no DC from RR?

Dawgs

Petty Officer 2nd Class

So while the motor is running put meter leads on the yellow leads on the terminal block? Does it matter which leads from the meter go to what yellow wire?

When I test voltage on battery side of starter solenoid while running I get 12 volts. No rise

schematic

Lieutenant Junior Grade

So while the motor is running put meter leads on the yellow leads on the terminal block?

Yes, we'll start with that.

Does it matter which leads from the meter go to what yellow wire?

NO